UK Delivery £1.99 

Mr. Smith Goes to Washington 1939 DVD - Jean Arthur / James Stewart

Naive and idealistic Jefferson Smith, leader of the Boy Rangers, is appointed on a lark by the spineless governor of his state. He is reunited with the state's senior senator--presidential hopeful and childhood hero, Senator Joseph Paine. In Washington, however, Smith discovers many of the shortcomings of the political process as his earnest goal of a national boys' camp leads to a conflict with the state political boss, Jim Taylor. Taylor first tries to corrupt Smith and then later attempts to destroy Smith through a scandal.


Jean Arthur as Clarissa Saunders
James Stewart as Jefferson "Jeff" Smith
Claude Rains as Senator Joseph Harrison "Joe" Paine
Edward Arnold as Jim Taylor
Guy Kibbee as Governor Hubert "Happy" Hopper
Thomas Mitchell as "Diz" Moore
Eugene Pallette as Chick McGann
Beulah Bondi as Ma Smith
H. B. Warner as Senate Majority Leader
Harry Carey as President of the Senate
Astrid Allwyn as Susan Paine
Ruth Donnelly as Mrs. Hopper
Grant Mitchell as Senator MacPherson
Porter Hall as Senator Monroe
Pierre Watkin as Senate Minority Leader
Charles Lane as "Nosey", reporter
William Demarest as Bill Griffith
Dick Elliott as Carl Cook

The Hopper Boys:
Billy Watson
Delmar Watson
John Russell
Harry Watson
Gary Watson
Baby Dumpling (Larry Simms)
H. V. Kaltenborn as himself
Russell Simpson as Kenneth Allen
Dick Jones as Richard "Dickie" Jones, Senate Page Boy
Nick Copeland as Senate Reporter
Anne Cornwall as Senate Reporter
Gino Corrado as Barber
Maurice Costello as Diggs - Newsman
Alec Craig as Speaker
Beatrice Curtis as Paine's Secretary
Lew Davis as Senate Clerk
Dulcie Day as Senate Reporter
Wally Dean as Paine's Friend
Vernon Dent as Senate Reporter
Harry Depp as Hat Salesman / Secretary
Robert Middlemass as 2nd Radio Announcer
Gladys Gale as Committee Woman
Stanley Andrews as Senator Hodges

Runtime: 125 Minutes

Product Code:
Stock Code: 999